June 3, 2014 Primary Endorsements

Lieutenant Governor
Gavin Newsom

Attorney General
Kamala D. Harris

John Chiang

Secretary of State

No official endorsement. Alex Padilla and Derek Cressman are Democrats in the race

Insurance Commissioner
Dave Jones


No official endorsement. Betty Yee and John Perez are Democrats in the race.           

Supt. of Public Instruction

Tom Torlakson

Ballot Initiatives

YES on Proposition 41 –Veterans Housing and Homeless Prevention Bond Act of 2014

Authorizes $600 million in general obligation bonds for affordable multifamily supportive housing to relieve homelessness, provide affordable transitional housing, affordable rental housing, or related facilities for veterans and their families.  

YES on Proposition 42 – Public Records. Open Meetings State Reimbursement to Local Agencies. Legislative Constitutional Amendment

Requires local government compliance with laws providing for public access to local government body meetings and records of government officials. Eliminates reimbursement for costs of compliance.

California State Assembly 
55th District: No endorsement. *Gregg Fritchle is the Democrat in the race
65th District: Sharon Quirk Silva
68th District: Anne Cameron
69th District: Tom Daly
72nd District: Joel Block
73rd District: Wendy Gabriella
74th District: Anila Ali

California State Senate
32nd District: Tony Mendoza
34th District: Jose Solorio

US House of Representatives
38th District: Linda Sanchez
39th District: Pete Anderson
45th District: No endorsement. *Drew Leavens is the Democrat in race 
46th District: Loretta Sanchez
47th District: Alan Lowenthal
48th District: Suzanne Joyce Savary
49th District: David Peiser 

Non Partisan Races
Board of Supervisors, 2nd District: Jim Moreno
Board of Supervisors, 4th District: Rudy Goana
Irvine Unified School District: Carolyn Inmon
Orange County Assessor: Jorge Lopez
Orange County Clerk Recorder: Gary Pritchard 
Orange County District Attorney - Public Administrator: Greg Diamond
Superior Court Judge, No. 27: Joanne Motoike
County Board of Education Area 2 - Urge DO NOT VOTE for Tom Pollitt 
County Board of Education Area 5 - Urge DO NOT VOTE for Linda Lindholm
While the Democratic Party cannot endorse a candidate who is not a registered Democrat, be aware that in some races without a registered Democrat in the race, there are clear distinctions between candidates from other parties. In some important races there are extremists running against more moderate candidates. Do your homework before voting or contact your local Democratic Club for assistance. 
* Candidate Drew Leavens is the only Democrat in this race. His candidacy was announced after official endorsements were scheduled, therefore it was too late for an official endorsement of Drew by the Party.
Do you like this page?