Looking Forward

Although yesterday's results were disappointing for many Democrats around the nation, we knew going into this midterm that our Party faced an uphill battle.

Statewide, turnout is said to be the lowest in more than half a century, resulting in three Democratic Congressional seats being in jeopardy (Sacramento, Central Valley and San Diego).

Here in Orange County, we also saw our share of losses.  However, as disappointed as we are in last night's results, we're proud of the positive campaigns our candidates ran and their continued commitment to public service.

On the plus side, over half of our endorsed candidates for local offices won (with others waiting for unprocessed ballots to be counted), proving that Democratic candidates can win in Orange County - even with the historic low turnout.

I want to personally thank our party's Executive Director, Nick Anas, along with Field Director David Brena, Intern Coordinators Tala Tajbakhsh & Ngoc Nguyen, Volunteer Coordinator Peggy Thompson, Office Manager Marti Schrank, our team of interns and the thousands of volunteers who worked tirelessly to help our candidates across this county. I am so proud of their commitment and want them to know how much I appreciate their efforts - not only in this election but all year long.

Our local Party is even more committed to working towards expanding our Democratic presence in this county by continuing to invest in our voter outreach and registration programs as we look forward to 2016. 

I trust that you will join us in that effort.

Democratically yours, 
Henry Vandermeir


Online Phone Banks

This November 4th, there are many races right here in Orange County that will determine the future of our party. Help us call voters right up to November 4th to ensure we elect our endorsed candidates to office! 

We have set up an online system to start making calls for endorsed Democrats in Orange County. It is easy to use and the script is provided once you get started. Once you click on the link for your candidate, all you need to do is register and you are ready to dial!

Looking to call a specific candidate not on this list? Contact david@ocdemocrats.org and we may set up an online phone bank in your area. 

Read more


This week, nearly 250,000 Democrats in Orange County received their official Vote-by-Mail ballot.

We can't afford to sit this election out because our county has two of the most important races in the state which will determine whether Democrats keep/regain the two-thirds majority in Sacramento.

When Democrats won the super majority in 2012, the mantra from the other side was that we would raise taxes on everyone and increase spending - putting the state even further into debt.

Well, that didn't happen! Instead, Democrats worked together to get us out of debt, balance the budget, and create a surplus.  That's good governance and proves what Democrats can do when Republicans aren't able to obstruct progress.

Here are a few small things you can do today to help us win in November: 

Electing and re-electing our statewide officers is important, but many do not know that local candidates often make decisions that affect your daily life the most. That's why our motto this year is simple: DON'T STOP AT THE TOP!

Governor: Jerry Brown
Lieutenant Governor: Gavin Newsom
Attorney General: Kamala Harris
Controller: Betty Yee
Treasurer: John Chiang
Secretary of State: Alex Padilla
Insurance Commissioner: Dave Jones 
Superintendent of Public Instruction: Tom Torlakson  
Bd. of Equalization, District 4: Nader Shahatit
Prop. 1: YES
Prop. 2: YES
Prop. 45: YES
Prop. 47: YES
Prop. 48: YES
California State Assembly
55th District: Gregg Fritchle 
65th District: Sharon Quirk Silva
68th District: Anne Cameron
69th District: Tom Daly
72nd District: Joel Block
73rd District: Wendy Gabriella

California State Senate
32nd District: Tony Mendoza
34th District: Jose Solorio 

US House of Representatives
38th District: Linda Sanchez
39th District: Pete Anderson
45th District: Drew Leavens 
46th District: Loretta Sanchez
47th District: Alan Lowenthal
48th District: Suzanne Joyce Savary
49th District: David Peiser

Anaheim City School District: David Robert Heywood, Jeff Cole, Ryan Ruelas
Anaheim Union High School District Area 1: Al Jabbar
Capistrano Unified School District Area 6 : Gila Jones
Centralia School District: Art Montez, Connor Traut 
Coast Community College District Area 5: Joel Flores
Cypress City School District: Steve Blount
Fullerton Joint Union School District: Joanne Fawley
Huntington Beach Joint Union School District: Bonnie Castrey, Kathleen Iverson
La Habra City School District: Cynthia Aguirre, Ida MacMurray, Ofelia Hanson 
Newport Mesa Unified School District Area 7: Fidel Mora
Orange Unified School District Area 5: Florice Hoffman
Rancho Santiago Community College District Area 4: Lawrence Labrado 
Santa Ana Unified School District: John Palacio, Valerie Amezcua 

Anaheim City Council: Dr. Jose F. Moreno
Anaheim Mayor: Lorri Galloway
Buena Park City Council: Greg Ferguson, Brian Beger
Costa Mesa City Council: Katrina Foley, Jay Humphrey
Fullerton City Council: Doug Chaffee
Garden Grove City Council: Kris Beard, Quang "Mike" Tran
Garden Grove Mayor: Bao Nguyen
Huntington Beach City Council: Connie Boardman, Joe Shaw, Mark Bixby
Irvine City Council: Larry Agran, Melissa Fox 
Irvine Mayor: Mary Ann Gaido
Laguna Beach City Council: Toni Iseman
Santa Ana City Council Ward 2: Michele Martinez
Santa Ana City Council Ward 4: David Benavides
Santa Ana City Council Ward 6: Sal Tinajero
Stanton City Council: Kevin Carr
Tustin City Council: Rebecca Gomez

Local Measures
Yes on Measure H: AUHSD School Bond 
Yes on Measure J: North Orange County Community College District Bond
Yes on Measure L: City of Anaheim - District Elections 
Yes on Measure M: Expansion of Anaheim City Council from 4-6
No on O: Costa Mesa Charter 
No on Irvine Measure W: Term Limits
Yes on Irvine Measure V: Fiscal Transparency 
Municipal Water District of Orange County Area 1: Greg Diamon
Municipal Water District of Orange County Area 5: Ron Varasteh
If you have any questions regarding your ballot, please contact us at (714)634-3367 or info@ocdemocrats.org.

1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  Next →